Christie and O’Flaherty crowned national champions

Christie and O’Flaherty crowned national champions

Men’s National finishers, from left, third place Sergiu Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers, first place Mark Christie of Mullingar Harriers, and second place Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrocks AC, following the Great Ireland Run at Phoenix Park, in Dublin. Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Mark Christie (Mullingar Harriers) provided the home cheer by winning the national 10k title in 29:30 and overall victory at the Great Ireland Run in the Phoenix Park today (April 9th).

Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole) was a late withdrawal overnight due to a lingering injury which left England’s Gemma Steel in to take overall victory in the women’s race in 34:15.

The first 5km is always quick with a lot of downhills before they get to the hillier section and the Furry Glen in the second half of the course.mAnd it was around the 8km point that Mark Christie opened up on the chasing duo of England’s Graham Rush and Raheny Shamrock’s Mick Clohisey.

Rush held on for second overall in 29:41 with Clohisey third in 29:44 which won him the silver medal for the national championships. Clonliffe Harriers’ Sergiu Ciobanu rounded out the national podium winning bronze in 30:20.

 Kerry O’Flaherty (Newcastle) took up the reigns for the Irish women’s team in the absence of Fionnuala McCormack and she put in a gritty performance to finish third overall while also bagging her second national 10km road title which she last won in 2009.

Leevale’s Claire McCarthy was second in the national championship race in 34:47 and looks set for the London marathon in two weeks’ time. DSD’ Laura Shaughnessy won national bronze in 35:04.

The Irish team defended the Sean Kyle Cup in the international competition against England.

Meanwhile, Thomas Barr (UL) and Marcus Lawler (IT Carlow) starred at the University Championships in CIT. Barr won the 400m hurdles in 50.92 while Lawler won the 200m in 21.01.


Irish University Championships, Cork IT



1.       Sarah Murray (DCU) 12.01

100m hurdles

1.       Lily-Ann O’Hora (DCU) 14.62


1.       Cliodhna Manning (DCU) 24.16


1.       Phil Healy (UCC) 53.98


1.       Jenna Bromell (UL) 2:10.02


1.       Carla Sweeney (UCD) 4:38.25

400m hurdles

1.       Jessica Neville (CIT) 63.37

1500m race walk

1.       Kate Veale (DCU) 6:23.08


1.       Aisling Joyce (NUIG) 9:44.58


1.       Shona Heaslip (IT Tralee) 16:11.74

3,000m steeplechase

1.       Jessica Coyne (UCC) 10:27.21

4x100m relay

1.       DCU 47.50

4x400m relay

1.       3:48.36

Long jump

1.       Sarah McCarthy (DCU) 5.77m

Triple Jump

1.       Saragh Buggy (DCU) 12.53m

High Jump

1.       Amy McTeggart (AIT) 1.66m

Pole vault

1.       Una Samuels (UL) 2.90m

Shot Put

1.       Alana Frattaroli (UL) 13.10m


1.       Sophie Parkinson Brown (DCU) 44.11m


1.       Mairead O’Neill (UCD) 50.72m


1.       Elizabeth Morland (DCU) 40.58m

8kg weight for distance

1.       Laura Dolan (AIT) 7.80m

Combined Events

1.       Amy McTeggart (AIT) 3,283 points



1.       Christian Robinson (QUB) 11.13


1.       Marcus Lawler (IT Carlow) 21.01


1.       Ben Maze (QUB) 47.61


1.       Aengus Meldon (NUIG) 1:52.51


1.       Neil Johnson (QUB) 3:55.29


1.       Tom O’Keefe (UCD) 14:58.42


1.       Karl Fitzmaurice (AIT) 31:18.38

3,000m steeplechase

1.       Michael Carey (DCU) 9:48.32

110m Hurdles

1.       Matthew Behan (DCU) 15.20

400m Hurdles

1.       Thomas Barr (UL) 50.92

3,000m race walk

1.       Evan Lynch (UL) 13:16.44

4x100m relay

1.       IT Carlow 41.62

4x400m relay

UL 3:17.16

Long jump

1.       Shane Howard (UL) 7.31m

High jump

1.       David Cussen (UCC) 2.05m

Triple jump

1.       Oisin Taylor (DCU) 14.06m

Pole vault

1.       Thomas Houlihan (CIT) 4.30m

Shot put

1.       John Kelly (LYIT) 15.85m


1.       Eoin Sheridan (DCU) 48.58m


1.       Adam King (DCU) 63.51m


1.       Stephen Rice (DCU) 61.18m

16kg WfD

1.       Luke Mangan (UCC) 9.66m

Combined Events

1.       Shane Aston (DCU) 3,166 points