Streets of Portlaoise 5K attracts a huge field

The Streets of Portlaoise 5K road race saw huge numbers turn up on a cold but dry St. Patrick’s morning. Over 350 children turned up to take part in the 3 fun runs down Main Street with each child going home happy with an easter egg and a medal.

The main 5k race started at 11am with a very impressive elite filed from all over Ireland. A lead group including Hilko Tonosa (Dundrum AC), Mick Clohisey (Raheny AC), Sean Heir (Rathfarnham AC) slowly broke away from the front. Spectators cheered and encouraged the runners as they made their way down Main Street for the first time.

12 mins into the race, the elite runners were again making their way down by Top Square to the finish line at the bottom of the town.

The top 5 men home were Hilko Tonosa in a time of 14.40, followed by Eric Keogh of Donore Harriers one second behind in a time of 14.41. 3rd place was Mick Clohisey 14.48, Sean Heir 15.00 and William Maunsell in a time of 15.02.

The first women home was Kerry O Flaherty, Irish Olympian (Newcastle and District AC) in a time of 16.10. She was followed in 2nd by Shona Heslip (An Roicht AC) 16.26, 3rd Claire McCarthy (Leevale AC) 16.39, 4th Linda Byrne (Dundrum South AC) 17.22 and Mary Mulhare (Portlaoise AC) 17.29.

First junior male was Cian McDonald in a time of 16.23 and first junior female was Sorcha Moloney in a time of 19.32 both from Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District AC.

A big congratulations to all the runners who completed their first 5k and it was great to see so many local faces running down Main Street.

Check out our website later in the week for our official video of the race which was shot by local man Brendan Brophy and race pictures taken by Denis Byrne. Full results of the Streets of Portlaoise 5k can be found at and keep up the running.

1st Male Hiko Tonosa

1st Female Kerry O Flaherty


 Streets of Portlaoise 5K 2018

Top 5 Male Overall

1 Hiko Tonosa Dundrum South Dublin AC 0:14:40,85
2 Eric Keogh Donore Harriers 0:14:41,95
3 Mick Clohisey Raheny Shamrock AC 0:14:48,91
4 Sean Hehir Rathfarmham WSAF AC 0:15:00,03
5 William Maunsell Clonmel AC 0:15:02,00


Top 5 Female Overall

1 Kerry O Flaherty Newcastle & District A.C. 0:16:10,82
2 Shona Heaslip An Riocht AC 0:16:26,25
3 Claire Mccarthy Leevale AC 0:16:39,89
4 Linda Byrne Dundrum South Dublin AC 0:17:22,65
5 Mary Mulhare Portlaoise AC 0:17:29,07


1st Junior Male

1 Cian McDonald Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District AC 0:16:23,74


1st Junior Female

1 Sorcha Moloney Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District AC 0:19:32,87


Category Prizes

Over 40

1 Keith Shiels Foyle Valley AC 0:15:28,78
1 Adele Walsh St. Senans 0:18:54,85


Over 45

1 Mark Hackett St. Michaels AC 0:17:24,33
1 Ann Churchouse Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District AC 0:22:29,02


Over 50

1 Colm Burke St. Abbans AC 0:16:32,28
1 Sharon Tighe Tallaght AC 0:21:02,92


Over 55

1 Gerry O Connell Marino Institute of Education 0:17:47,35
1 Niamh O Sullivan An Riocht AC 0:19:30,48



Team Results

1st Male Club Team
Portlaoise AC
James Hamm
Cyril Cuddy
Tom Lupton
2nd Male Club Team
St. Abbans AC
Colm Burke
Conor Barry
Colm McEvoy
1st Female Club Team
Ballyroan & Abbeyleix District AC
Sorcha Moloney
Faye McEvoy
Kate McDonald
2nd Female Club Team
An Riocht AC
Shona Heaslip
Niamh O Sullivan
Liz Heaslip


New Course Records 2018

Senior Male

Hiko Tonosa Dundrum South Dublin AC 0:14:40,85


Senior Female

Kerry O Flaherty Newcastle & District A.C. 0:16:10,82