Bumper Irish team ready for European Team Championships

Avatar photo

The European Team Championships take place in the Silesian Stadium in Chorzow, and runs from the 20th of June until the 26th of June, with the Irish athletes competing on the first three days.

Team Ireland will be competing in Division Three, with the main objective of gaining promotion to Division Two. A full athletics programme of action will be featured during the Games, and this will be the first outing for Athletics Ireland athletes under their new sprint coach, Christian Malcolm.

The following countries are in the third division: Bosnia & Herzegovina, Malta, Montenegro, Georgia, Armenia, Andorra, Republic of North Macedonia, San Marino, Albania, AASSE (Athletic Association of the Small States of Europe), Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Austria, Ireland and Israel.

Competition for the Division three events will take place in the morning of the first three days; 20, 21 and 22 of June.  The medals in each category will be awarded after athletes in all division have competed, on the 26th of June.

Team Ireland will feature some of the up-and-coming talents in Irish athletics, as well as some seasoned names like Thomas Barr, Sarah Lavin, Phil Healy and Israel Olatunde.

  • European Athletics Preview HERE
  • Live Stream HERE
  • Schedule & Results HERE
  • Follow TEAM IRELAND on Instagram and Facebook for the latest updates from the venue.


Israel Olatunde (UCD A.C.) 100m (M), 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) 200m (M), 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Jack Raftery (Donore Harriers A.C.) 400m (M), Mixed 4 x 400m Relay

James Ezeonu (Leevale A.C.) 110m H (M)

Thomas Barr (Ferrybank A.C.) 400m H (M), Mixed 4 x 400m Relay

Rocco Zaman-Browne (Dundrum South Dublin A.C.) 800m (M)

Cathal Doyle (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 1500m (M)

Fearghal Curtin (Youghal A.C.) 5000m (M)

Finley Daly (Sligo A.C.) 3000m SC (M)

David Cussen (Old Abbey A.C.) High Jump (M)

Reece Ademola (Leevale A.C.) Long Jump (M)

Michael Bowler (Enniscorthy A.C.) Pole Vault (M)

Jai Benson (Lagan Valley A.C.) Triple Jump (M)

Eric Favors (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) Shot Put (M)

Colin Quirke (Crusaders A.C.) Discus Throw

Sean Mockler (Moycarkey Coolcroo A.C.) Hammer Throw (M)

Conor Cusack (Lake District A.C.) Javelin

Oliver Swinney (Speed Development Project Track A.C.) 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Nelvin Appiah (Longford A.C.) 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Christopher Sibanda (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Joseph Ojewumi (Tallaght A.C.) 4 x 100m (M) Relay

Callum Baird (Ballymena & Antrim A.C.) Mixed 4 x 400m Relay

Lauren Roy (City of Lisburn A.C.) 100m (F), 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Phil Healy (Bandon A.C.) 200m (F), 4 x 100m (F) Relay, Mixed 4 x 400m Relay

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport A.C.) 400m (F), Mixed 4 x 400m Relay

Sarah Lavin (Emerald A.C.) 100m H (F), 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Kelly McGrory (Tir Chonall A.C.) 400m H (F), 4 x 400m (F) Relay

Louise Shanahan (Leevale A.C.) 800m (F)

Sophie O’Sullivan (Ballymore Cobh A.C.) 1500m (F)

Aoibhe Richardson (Kilkenny City Harriers A.C.) 5000m (F)

Ava O’Connor (Tullamore Harriers A.C.) 3000m SC (F)

Ruby Millet (St. Abban’s A.C.) Long Jump (F)

Saragh Buggy (St. Abban’s A.C.) Triple Jump (F)

Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley A.C.) High Jump (F)

Ellie McCartney (City of Lisburn A.C.) Pole Vault (F)

Michaela Walsh (Swinford A.C.) Shot Put (F)

Grace Casey (Clonliffe Harriers A.C.) Javelin (F)

Niamh Fogarty (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) Discus Throw (F)

Nicola Tuthill (UCD A.C.) Hammer Throw (F)

Adeyemi Talabi (Longford A.C.) 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Joan Healy (Leevale A.C.) 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Sarah Leahy (Killarney Valley A.C.) 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Mollie O’Reilly (Dundrum South Dublin A.C.) 4 x 100m (F) Relay

Roisin Harrison (Emerald A.C.) Mixed 4 x 400m Relay.

Irish Runner logo

The Runner’s Connect