Athletics stars nominated for awards ahead of Team Ireland Olympic Ball

Avatar photo

Members of the Irish athletics community have received multiple award nominations ahead of the Team Ireland Olympic Ball which takes place in the Mansion House, Dublin tomorrow night (November 11th).

On the evening, the athletes who competed at this summerโ€™s European Games in Krakow, Poland will be particularly celebrated. The Games, which doubled as the European Athletics Team Championships, saw Ireland win Division Three in style.

The athletics team has been rewarded for their performances throughout the year and in Krakow by being nominated for the PTSB Team of the Year award alongside the Horse Sport Ireland Show Jumping and Menโ€™s Rugby Sevens teams.

Both Sarah Lavin (Emerald AC) and Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght AC) have been nominated for the PTSB Inspiring the Nation award.

Lavin won a bronze medal at the European Games in the 100m Hurdles and also set a national record in that event and the 100m during a hugely successful summer. Her impressive performances on the track followed the heartbreaking loss of her partner Craig Breen in April.

Adeleke finished fourth in the Womenโ€™s 400m final at the World Athletics Championships in Budapest and became the first Irish woman to break fifty seconds for the event this year. The 21-year-old sprinter, who is also the NCAA champion in the event, has also been nominated for the Sport Ireland Rising Star award.

Ciara Mageean, who also finished fourth in her event at the World Athletics Championships, is one of three names nominated for the Allianz Women in Olympic Sport award.

Noelle Morrissey, who is coach to Sarah Lavin, has been nominated for the Deloitte Impact that Matters award, while Olympians Rob and Marian Heffernan are in contention for the Flogas Community Ambassador of the Year award.

The awards will be MCโ€™d by former international Rugby Sevens player and Tokyo Olympian Greg Oโ€™Shea.

Athletics nominees โ€“ Team Ireland Olympic Ball

  • Sarah Lavin โ€“ PTSB Inspiring the Nation award
  • Rhasidat Adeleke โ€“ PTSB Inspiring the Nation award
  • Rhasidat Adeleke โ€“ Sport Ireland Rising Star award
  • Ciara Mageean โ€“ Allianz Women in Olympic Sport award
  • Noelle Morrissey โ€“ Deloitte Impact that Matters award
  • Rob and Marian Heffernan โ€“ Flogas Community Ambassador of the Year award
  • Team Ireland Athletics โ€“ PTSB Team of the Year award
Irish Runner logo

The Runnerโ€™s Connect